N00bie here with questions...

SoCal Rebell

Dec 24, 2006
Hello all, Happy Holidays to all. Some of you may recognize my screen name from the Viper forums where I am active but sold my Viper. Most of you don't know me from a hole in the wall but I hope to change that. I am an avid road racer and have had Podiums in the Viperdays Nationals and the FGT looks like a good track/street car. I would like your opinions on 2 FGTs I am considering.

A local collector 2005 Red w/white stripes with 32 miles and all 4 options for $150K.

And a new dealer 2006 red w/white stripes with 67 miles all 4 options for $159K.

I will probably do the pulley, pipes, ignition ect. Anybody know anyone in SoCal that does this? As far as road racing what kinds of upgrades are recommended. I'm fairly new to this car but quite a few of my Viper buddies have upgraded to the FGT and did everything from pulleys to turbos. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanx, Ron

dbk

Admin
Staff member
Le Mans 2010 Supporter
Jul 30, 2005
Metro Detroit
Ron,
Either car looks good. I'd say tolerances and gaps etc may be marginally tighter on the 06's, but a good day 05 is still better than a bad day 06 on any handbuilt car. If the 06 looks good, you could probably get it pretty close to the 05 price if you hammer them.

Upgrades - 2.7" pulley, tune and exhaust will take the car from a 125-127mph quarter miles car to a 134-136mph car. Easy to steer the car with the wheel or the throttle post-pulley. Racing = must get a trans cooler, and you can get bigger brakes, oil breather...Hoosier makes a road race tire already.

SoCal Rebell

Dec 24, 2006
Ron,
Either car looks good. I'd say tolerances and gaps etc may be marginally tighter on the 06's, but a good day 05 is still better than a bad day 06 on any handbuilt car. If the 06 looks good, you could probably get it pretty close to the 05 price if you hammer them.